The second volume of the mulapannasapali of the Majjima Nikaya

  • MN11 Cūḷasīhanādasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Shorter Discourse on the Lion's Roar - The Buddha declares that only through practice in accord with the Dhamma can Awakening be realized. His teaching is distinguished from those of other religions and philosophies through its unique rejection of all doctrines of self.

  • MN12 Mahāsīhanādasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Greater Discourse on the Lion's Roar - In this discourse, given at Vesāli, the Venerable Sāriputta reported to the Buddha about the disparagement of the Buddha’s virtues made by Sunakkhatta who had left the teaching. The Buddha said that Sunakkhatta was not intellectually equipped to have the faintest glimpse of the Buddha’s virtues such as the ten strengths, the four kinds of supreme self-confidence, and the non-decline of sabbaññuta ñāṇa till the time of parinibbāna. He then described the five destinations and the actions which lead to them as well as the wrong beliefs and practices of the naked ascetics to whose camp Sunakkhatta now belonged.

  • MN13 Mahādukkhakkhandhasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Great Mass of Stress - A graphic description of the allures and drawbacks of sensuality, physical form, and feeling is given by the Buddha providing and incentive to consider escaping samsara once and for all.

  • MN14 Cūḷadukkhakkhandhasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Lesser Mass of Stress - Can painful austerities be used to purify oneself and burn away the karmic fruit of past misdeeds? Through a question-and-answer dialogue with the lay follower Mahanama and a group of Jain ascetics, the Buddha explains what mental qualities must be abandoned in order to free oneself of greed, aversion, and delusion.

  • MN15 Anumānasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    Discourse on Self Observation - Venerable Mahàmoggallàna gives a lecture on how the practice of self reflection can help in the practice of the golden rule of doing unto others as you would have done to you.

  • MN16 Cetokhilasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Arrow in the Mind - The five arrows and five bonds that prevents one from enlightenment and ways to overcome them are mentioned by the Buddha.

  • MN17 Vanapatthasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Ways of the Forest- The Buddha explains that the effect of ones’ location on ones’ practice should be noted and the best location or support should be sought and maintained.

  • MN18 Madhupiṇḍikasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The ball of honey discourse - A man asks the Buddha to explain his doctrine. The Buddha's answer mystifies not only the man, but also a number of monks. Ven. Maha Kaccana finally provides an explanation, and in the course of doing so explains how to bring an end to conflicts.

  • MN19 Dvedhāvitakkasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    Two Sorts of Thinking - The Buddha recounts the events leading up to his Awakening, and describes his discovery that thoughts connected with sensuality, ill-will, and harmfulness do not lead one to Awakening, while those connected with renunciation, non ill-will, and harmlessness do.

  • MN20 Vitakkasaṇṭhānasuttaṃ ( 2 )

    The Discursively Thinking Mind - The Buddha offers five practical methods of responding wisely to unskillful thoughts that are connected with desire, aversion, or delusion.