The Sutta Pitaka (Basket of Discourses) consists of all the teachings that were delivered by the Buddha and his main disciples. These discourses are divided among five nikayas (collections) which are divided into numerous vaggas (volumes) and subsequently into the various suttas. The main nikayas that constituent the teachings are:

Digha Nikaya - the "long discourses"

* Majjhima Nikaya - the "middle-length discourses"

* Samyutta Nikaya - the "grouped discourses"

* Anguttara Nikaya - the "further-factored discourses"

* Khuddaka Nikaya - the "collection of stanzas":



You are here: Home The Teachings Tipitaka Suttapitaka